A New Year’s Day Ride

I’m a bit late with this poem. I started drafting it on New Year’s Day, following my bike ride, but only now got it to the state that I wanted (at least for now). The original title was going to be “A New Year’s Day Ride,” but the sentiments really apply to just about every ride I go on. So, for now, here’s the poem without a title.

All I know, I see and hear:
gravel on road, geese in flight,
houses and hills and trees,
tires on pavement.
Thoughts pushed deep.
Through time and miles,
I chase white clouds.

Leave a Reply

